Sharing notes

Sharing a Note

By default, all the notes that you created are added to your personal space on Ideolve. This is called My Space. In order to share a note, you first have to move it to a common workspace and then share the note. 

  1. Select a note, the note will appear in the Note view.
  2. From the drop-down menu in the Note header, select Share.
  3. In the pop-up dialog box, select a Workspace. If you are not part of any workspace or want to share the note via a new workspace, click on + to create a new workspace. Enter a name and description for the workspace.
  4. Once you have selected the workspace, you can share the note with a single user (identified with a user name or email id) or a group of users.
    1. Click the down arrow to view the list of members of the selected workspace. Select the users with whom you want to share the note. 
    2. If the user with whom you want to share the note is already a part of the workspace, enter the user nameAuto-complete feature will suggest you the matching users.
    3. If the user with whom you want to share the note is not part of the workspace, enter the email id.
    4. To share the note with a group of users, select an existing group or create a group. For existing groups, enter the Group id. For creating a group, click on the group icon and give details.
  5. Click on Next.
  6. If any user, is not a part of the workspace, then the system will prompt you for a confirmation to invite the user to the workspace. 
  7. Click Done.


Delegate Note Security Functions

By default, the Ideolve user who creates the note is the owner of the note.

A note owner controls the note security by deciding the note controls and also by deciding with whom to share the note.

A note owner can delegate these functions to any other user with whom the note is shared.

To do so:

  1. Open a note created by you.
  2. From the note view, click on the icon to view the list of users with whom the note is shared.
  3. Click on the name of the user to whom you want to delegate the note security functions.
  4. In the pop-up box, select a suitable option:
  5. Full:    Select this option to allow the user to share/unshare the note, update note controls, and also to delegate the note security functions to any user with whom the note is shared. (However, this does not allow the co-owner to update the note content.)
  6. Share/Unshare: Select this option to allow the user to share/unshare the note.
  7. Share-only: Select this option to allow the user to share the note. 
  8. Default: This removes all the delegations for the user.