Assign Administrative Roles

Overview of the administrative roles in Vaultastic

When you provision your first Vaultastic domain, two administrative roles (senior admin and junior admin ) get created for your organization.  Users assigned these roles can perform administrative tasks as mentioned in the table below: 

Senior Admin

org_<orgname>_admin

(where orgname is the emailid of the registered user)

A user assigned a senior admin role will be able to access the Admin Panel and can perform all administrative tasks including updating domain properties, adding users, changing user access rights, deleting users, resetting user passwords, assigning admin roles and changing the eDiscovery viewing rights.
Junior Admin

org_<orgname>_jradmin

(where orgname is the emailid of the registered user)

A user assigned a junior admin role will be able to access the Admin Panel and can perform all administrative tasks except for deleting users, changing user passwords, assigning admin roles and changing the eDiscovery viewing rights.

By default, the senior admin role is assigned to the system default postmaster user and also to the Vaultastic id for the registered user.  All other users created have no administrative roles assigned to them.

Note: For the first domain created, the roles allow admins to update properties of the newly created domain. For subsequent Vaultastic domain addition, the roles for the organization is updated to allow update of properties of the newly created domain in addition to the existing domain.

If you login to your Vaultastic domain using a account having a senior admin role, then you can in turn assign the senior or junior admin role to any user in the domains of your organization.

Updating a user's role

  1. Navigate to Admin Panel
  2. In the left pane, click on the domain name and select Users.  The middle pane will show the list of users in the domain. 
  3. Click on the user in the middle pane.
  4. In the right pane, expand Account Information.
  5. Choose the suitable role for users of your domain.
  6. Click on Save in the bottom right corner.